Search

Brewster Academy Blogs

Author

petergilligan

How to check your SPAM folder for missing email

One of Gmail’s most valuable features is its ability to prevent most SPAM from showing up in your inbox. Because this is completely automated, important messages sometimes get trapped inside your SPAM folder. Unless you know how to check it, you will never ever see them and you may miss something important. This is a folder that should be checked regularly (daily). Here’s how to check the SPAM folder and recover any messages you need.

1) Log into your gmail account and find the left hand “sidebar”:

Full_page_after_Login

2) At the very bottom of this “Sidebar” you will find a link titled “More”. As a note, you may need to scroll down that “Sidebar” to find it… even thought there is NOT a scroll bar.

Sidebar_without_SPAM

3) Click on the “More” link and you will see some selections drop down below. One of these new links is titled “Spam”.

Sidebar_with_SPAM

4) Click on the “Spam” Link and you will be brought into your “Spam” folder. This contains ALL messages that Google has deemed bad, risky or just plain annoying. From here you have the option of looking through the captured email, and choosing either to delete them forever, or mark them as “Not Spam”. In any case, below I only had a single spam message. If you’ve not checked this before you could have hundreds or more. If you highlight several email messages or choose just one, you will notice two special buttons at the top of your page. SPAM_emailOnce you’ve selected a few messages or are actively viewing a message, clicking the “Not Spam” button will send that message to your inbox. Choosing “Delete Forever” will do just that – delete the message for good. As a note, messages you mark as “Not Spam” will appear in your inbox at the date the message was originally sent. If you don’t keep your inbox clean you may have to scroll to the date it was sent to read it.

Anderson Hall Basic Presentation Tutorial

Check out this 9 minute video that will take you through the steps of turning on the lights in Anderson Hall, connecting your computer to the system and turning on and off the podium microphone and AV system.  If you still want a hands-on, face-to-face tutorial, don’t hesitate to contact the IT office to schedule an appointment.

 

Faculty Spotlight: Rob O’Blenis and Doceri for iPad

Click here to see the Tech on Tap Poster

Faculty Spotlight: Collaboratively Taking Online Course

Click here to see the Tech on Tap Poster

Curricular Technology Faculty Posters

Click the text below to enlarge the poster.

 TechonTap-Poster Mosaic

Online Course – Foreign Language Department

Google Earth Tours – Bruce Gorrill

Safe Exam Browser – Mike Jacobs

Google Classroom – Doug Kiley

Doceri for iPad – Rob O’Blenis

Wolfram Alpha – Chris Hafner

Google Forms- Tom Owen

Edpuzzle – Doug Kiley

Faculty Spotlight: Doug Kiley and EdPuzzle

Click here to see the Tech on Tap Poster

Faculty Spotlight: Bruce Gorrill and Google Earth Tours

Click here to see the Tech on Tap Poster

Mac 101: Force Quitting Apps

If an application becomes unresponsive and “frozen”, it is sometimes helpful to “Force Quit” the application.  To do so, simultaneously press Esc+Option+Command on your keyboard

IMG_3073
This will pull up the Force Quit Window

Screen Shot 2015-03-03 at 10.29.17 AM
You can now select which application you wish to “Relaunch”

Alternatively, you can select “Force Quit…” from the Apple Menu to quit the currently active application.

Force Quit menu

Google Drive: “Incoming” is now “Shared with Me”

When Google Docs first came out in 2006, documents shared from others were categorized as “Shared with Me”

Screenshot from 2006
google-docs-shared with me

In 2012 when Google rebranded Google Docs as Google Drive, they also changed “Shared with Me” to “Incoming” – much to the dismay of many, many customers.

As a result of this outcry (first world problem), Google has changed it back to “Shared with me”.

Screen Shot 2015-03-04 at 3.40.24 PM

The “Shared with Me” link in the left-hand side navigation lets you see the files and folders that other people have shared with you, starting with the most recent.

Screen Shot 2015-03-04 at 3.43.16 PM

 

 

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑